Running Will Make You Rich

no, seriously.

In the last year or so I’ve gotten really into running, I ran my first marathon last October and about a week ago I began training for my next marathon this October

and something about running I’ve learned is if you let your heart rate spike, it becomes this crazy spiral of events

all of the sudden your breathing gets choppy, you may cramp in your stomach, or your legs might cramp up, and then your thoughts start to run of “maybe I should stop” or slow down or skip the workout or whatever it may be

and even in my last marathon, I know I experienced all of this, and there’s only one way to get back on track

to take some very slow, deep breaths in through your nose, and out through your mouth, and to really focus on these breaths

all of the sudden, your heart rate comes back down, and you’re able to keep going, take your mind off the bad thoughts, and just focus on breathing

and I noticed this on one of my runs the other day and it got me thinking, running is really like running a business

your heart rate spikes in business all the time, maybe a client leaves, maybe a payment processor shuts you down, maybe a partner screws you

and when one of these things goes wrong, it seems like everything else just tends to spiral downwards as well

and it’s super easy to just self destruct and ruin yourself by focusing on all the bad when the only way to turn it around, is to focus on your breath (literally, take some deep breaths) and then focus on what you can control

and this may seem shallow, but don’t let the ability to recognize a stressful situation, take some deep breaths, and then get right back to putting one foot in front of the other go over your head

the greatest entrepreneurs are the ones with the greatest stress tolerance, and so how do you learn how to handle stress? bingo - by being placed in stressful situations and learning how to navigate it

and this isn’t easy at all - I’ve 100% had my times I didn’t handle stress as well as I could which is how I was able to learn

but even now, pushing myself running, in the gym, even practicing in tennis, all translates over to business

the other piece that helps a lot is having a great community of guys doing similar things to me, and that’s why for you, we’re kicking off a 60 day challenge inside my discord

focused on a sprint in business, physical, and mental health, where not only will you get a community of people on the same path as you, video content on how to start a business, but also a dedicated customer success manager to help you achieve your goals

if that’s interesting to you - click here for all the info

Happy Sunday,

Alex