The Drug Our Parents Didn't Warn Us Of

it's the most deadly too..

five years ago, it’s may of 2019 and I am a recent high school graduate

graduated top of my class, 30th out of like 500 students and on my way to college to study finance and play tennis

for probably the majority of my high school career I had the same plan

get really good grades in high school, get into a good college, get really good grades in college, get a really good job, work my way up the ladder

save most of my money and invest it, and come the time that I’m 40 I will have “made it”

I’ll be financially free, I should be able to pay off a home in a reasonable timeframe

and I was on a perfect trajectory to do all of this

yet… something was off about it for me when I’d think about it

I am an all in or all out type of person

and this type of life…. it is too comfortable

and comfort is the silent killer.

comfort is what leads to mediocrity

sure you have to be good at your job, but life just turns into going through the motions

work M-F and look forward to the weekend

heck… I had a call today with a big corporate companies head of partnerships, and the first thing he said was “happy friday” and then when I asked how he was he answered “better than monday”

and something I believe in, is how you do one thing you do everything

go through the motions with their job, then with their health, then their relationships

I can’t do it. It’s not for me.

I don’t want to live the same year for 20-40 years straight

I want the unpredictability, I want a little bit of chaos, you NEED it to truly become a competent person

a calm ocean never created a skilled sailor

now this doesn’t mean comfort hasn’t creeped in on me ever

it’s EASY to get comfortable when you could not work for years and be fine

or when you have $X amount coming in per month pretty automated

and so what’s most important, is to RECOGNIZE when you’re getting comfortable

and again, transparently it’s happened to me a LOT

and so the answer for me when it happens, and I’m not saying this works for everyone, is to literally just double or triple outputs in all areas

go 2x my content production or outbound campaigns and aggressively scale the business

I just signed myself up to an expensive gym and I’m following a new tough regiment

and maybe most importantly, have friends that will

1) call you out

2) get you back on track / focus with you

everyone says it, and it’s super cliche

but having a group of like minded people working towards similar things to you is one of the most powerful things

do not let comfort creep up on you

get in the gym

work 4 hours focused every day

eat a client diet

talk to new people every day

you are a few short years away from your dream life (actually, what you THINK is your dream life)

and then, you can focus on building your actual dream life… but that phenoma is for another email

here’s my Friday evening gift to you

instead of spending $50 at the bars tonight

learn valuable skills like outbound messaging, no code development, personal branding, and join a group of guys killing it

and use code “THEDAY” for $25/mo off

the first 10 people to join get a 1on1 onboarding call with me

talk inside,

alex